An ode to Nick Diaz – Because you got high


So everyone knows by now that Diaz tested positive for Marijuana right after UFC 143. What an idiot. Regardless of your feelings on whether Cannabis is performance enhancing or not, it is an illegal substance in society and illegal in professional sports. End discussion.

Diaz has frequently boasted that he smokes regardless and went on record with the LA Times in 2009 saying:

I can pass a drug test in eight days with herbal cleansers. I drink 10 pounds of water and sweat out 10 pounds of water every day. I’ll be fine.

Why oh why – if this is indeed the case – did he not do that in the biggest fight of his life then? Better yet, why not lay off the banned substances all together? You are getting paid hundreds of thousands of dollars by a company who bends over backwards to accomodate you despite your numerous transgressions in the past and you still want to break the rules? REALLY?


Diaz is an idiot and deserves all that’s coming to him for this. He can fight for sure, but he can’t gameplan and being surrounded by yes-men has finally come and bit him the ass. His corner told him he was winning all through the fight. Not sure what fight they watched? Condit didn’t run, he played a great game by sticking and moving, hitting and not getting hit (much) and just being better on the day.

What if they were right though and the judges agreed? What if he had actually WON the title and then failed the test? More ammunition for the anti-MMA brigade that’s what. Dana and co need to come down HARD on Diaz for this. The NSAC will ban him anyway, but the UFC need to distance themselves from this guy. They were all set to announce an immediate rematch, even though Diaz threw his toys out the pram and announced his retirement after the match. He has to go now. If he does ever come back from this, I hope he comes back with his shit together and proves how good he really is, as I’m sure no-one doubts his talent. He could be even better if he left his comfort zone of Stockton, but I admit this is unlikely.

Anyhow, serious stuff over: Having read a tonne of articles and quotes about all this on forums and news sites today, I saw that RedMist had posted up altered lyrics to Afromans “because I got high” on the fight lounge forum in light of Nick’s current situation. Me likey, so I’m stealing the idea and doing my own version. Check my rhymes yo!

It’s like I don’t care about nothing man
Roll another joint, ooh la da da da la da da la la da da

I can’t talk to folk, and so I get high
I went to get a doctors note, so I can get high
But the NSAC says I ain’t allowed, to get high
(Why man?)

I need to get high, I gotta get high, I love to get high

I can fight real well despite the fact I love to get high
Performance enhancing? Like hell! Man I just get high
(Uh uh la la da da)
I can beat your drug tests as well, and I still get high
(Why man? Hey hey)

I need to get high, I gotta get high, I love to get high

I can beat any drug test rap, even though I get high,
Just some water and herbs and crap, and I still get high,
(Uh uh la la da da)
So when I gotta pee in the cup I know, even though I am high
(hey hey)

That I will get by, that I will get by, that I will get by

(Go to the next one, go to the next one, go to the next one)
I beat some guy in Japan, even when I was high
(Oh oh)
But then I met the drug test man, and he found I was high
(La da da da da)
Now my gogoplata win is canned, and I know why
(Why man?)

Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high

So I got back on the horse, and I still got high
Won the title on Strikeforce, even though I get high
(La da da da da)
Didn’t fail no more tests of course, so sing with I,
(hey hey)

The champ gets high! the champ gets high! the champ gets high!

Went to the UFC, and I still get high
Them press won’t fuck with me, I’m off to get high
(la da da da da)
Wont get on no plane, like Mr T, and Dana knows why
(Hey Hey)
Because I get high, because I get high, becuase I get high!

Got myself a title fight, and I’m still getting high
But something just ain’t right, cos I’m still getting high
(la da da da da)
Won’t get caught, though you think I might, I’m still getting high
(Hey Hey)
Fuck it I’m high, Fuck it I’m high, Fuck it I’m high

They said I beat Carlos Condit, but my corner was high
They said he was running around and shit, but my corner was high
(Yes they was)
Then I lost and retired and split, and I know why
(Why man? Yeah)

Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high

I was gonna get rematched and then, they found I was high
(Uh, I’m serious man)
Yeah my old drug-tester friend, found out I was high
(Uh)
Banned again, looks like the end, and I know why!
(Ha ha ha, why man?)

Because I got high, because I got high, because I got high

I messed up my entire career, because I got high
(Go go go)
Could have been the rematch of the year, but I got high
(What? Say what? Say what?)
Now I’m just left with my gear, and I know why
(Why man? Yeah yeah)

Because I get high, oh why’d I get high, I must’ve been high

Leave a Reply

